FAMILY OWNERSHIP FACTOR – NOT POWERFUL ENOUGH TO BRING COMPANIES TO THE TOP ANYMORE

12/06/20

Family factor loses its relevance in search for the best companies

Family ownership factor is usually regarded as a quality stamp for well-managed and sustainable company development. Sometimes, it could even be a decisive factor when making an investment in the particular company. Firms with family shareholding or dominant investor are associated with long-term focus, commitment and flexibility. However, what we have noticed recently is that less and less companies with family shareholding are represented in the top 100 best European companies as well as among regional excellence award winners, which are determined based on the rigorous methodology. For a company to be admitted to the top, it should gain top scores in qualitative assessment of its business model, corporate governance and market niche – all on top of excellent track record of the financial conditions.

The chart shows clearly declining trend of companies with family ownership in the top 100 according to Corporate excellence award methodology: in 2013, 67% of excellence award winners had strong family presence, while this year only 33% of such companies remained. The same applies to the broader top 100 universe, though the decline in there is less striking: down from 41% to 33% for the same period. Below we discuss possible reasons to explain this trend.

Fig. 1: Share of companies having family ownership

Note: the company is assigned with family shareholding in case family or dominant investor has more than 10% of voting capital and is the largest shareholder.

Source: Hérens Quality Asset Management

First, we looked into what has happened to the former top companies with family ownership and checked whether they were still in the top in 2020 (fig.2). We concentrated on 2013 as a starting point for our analysis and on 2016, as it was a year when there have been the largest number of companies with distinct family
ownership.

Fig. 2: What happened to the companies previously admitted to be the best?

Source: Hérens Quality Asset Management

Just around a third of the former “family owned” winners remained among the top companies in 2020, while for the majority of companies the primary reason for failing to qualify to the top was worsening of the fundamentals. Change in family ownership and delisting (e.g. as a result of M&A) were of a lesser importance. However, change in ownership should not be neglected as nowadays families are often tempted by the lucrative offers from the financial industry, especially if the family members are no longer interested in being actively engaged in the affairs and continue the dynasty in the company’s management. As an example, take Ray-Ban sunglasses producer Luxottica, which was taken over by Essilor in 2017 rewriting Italian corporate history, when it became the largest takeover of Italian company by Multinational Corporation. This deal helped to solve two pressing problems – succession planning for the major shareholder as first and attracting competitive managerial talents.as second. Thus, the generation link also tends to disappear in certain cases, but this is usual order of events and corporate processes.

Financially weaker?

We have looked into past top companies with family ownership based on two financial criteria, considering capital profitability and capital structure in an effort to compare how they look now as opposed to the years, when they were admitted to the very top. As seen from the table, both median return on equity and equity ratio worsened for the family companies once admitted to the top: e.g. median ROE for top firms of 2013 declined from 21% to 14% in 2020, while equity ratio for best companies of 2014 declined from 65% to 55%.

Fig. 3: ROE and equity ratio of family-owned companies for 2020 vs. year of being included
in the top 100 companies, ROE and equity ratio of top 100 companies

Source: Hérens Quality Asset Management, Thomson Reuters

What should not be ignored, however, is that those family-owned companies, which remained in the top, financially became even more attractive (ROE increased from 21% to 26-28%), though their proportion in the top 100 diminshed in quantity. It is also well-seen if we compare ratios of family-owned winners to the median ratios of the top 100 universe: capital profitability laurels obviously go to the companies having family as the main shareholder.

Need for plausible succession planning, innovativeness of the business model and competitiveness of the management

So, one may think of making a cautious conclusion that the discrepancy among family-owned companies increases: well-managed family-owned companies stay in the top and continue to grow their edge, while poorly-managed companies, despite сore family holding, have hard times returning to the top. Though there are still illustrative examples exist. Take luxury conglomerate Richemont, that belongs to South-African entrepreneur and billionaire Johann Rupert, who also has been a long-lasting Chairman of the company. Richemont was clearly lagging behind peers in addressing new realities of the industry with changing demand patterns, with customers, e.g. millennials, becoming more sophisticated and looming disruption on behalf of e-commerce. Not until Mr. Rupert realized that actually diamonds are not forever, which led to a complete revamp of top management in an attempt to bring “fresh blood and fresh ideas”, did company begin playing catch-up game with LVMH and Kering.

With this research we don’t want to compromise the value added of family shareholding factor yet. However, the results of our excellence award research speak for themselves – there are less and less companies in the top of our ranking with significant family presence among shareholders. Families have to become less conservative and swiftly adapt to the rapidly changing environment, attract more talents to the management, dedicate more attention to the innovation to stay
competitive and generate outstanding value going forward.

Access to capital is no longer an advantage

We also would like to bring forward a thesis regarding diminishing importance of the family factor for the companies to stay competitive. In earlier days businesses of rich families had a significant advantage having access to large amounts of capital. Now the situation has radically changed, given that capital is available to basically any entity with a distinct competitive advantage and innovative technology, so that investors are literally queuing in order to invest in scalable business models.

 

HQAM Monthly Insight June 2020 (EN)

 

Back

FAMILIENUNTERNEHMEN ZU SEIN REICHT NICHT MEHR UM AN DIE SPITZE ZU GELANGEN

12/06/20

Der Familienfaktor ist für die Top-Unternehmen weniger relevant

Der Faktor Familienbesitz wird normalerweise als Qualitätsmerkmal für eine gut geführte und nachhaltige Unternehmensentwicklung angesehen und kann manchmal ein ausschlaggebender Faktor für Investitionen in das jeweilige Unternehmen sein. Unternehmen mit Familienbeteiligung oder einem stabilen Ankerinvestor sind bekannt für ihre langfristige Ausrichtung, ihr Engagement und ihre Flexibilität. Zuletzt ist uns jedoch aufgefallen, dass immer weniger Unternehmen mit Familienbeteiligung in den Top 100 der besten europäischen Unternehmen sowie unter den regionalen Gewinnern vertreten sind, die auf der Grundlage der strengen Methodik des Corporate Excellence Awards ermittelt werden. Damit ein Unternehmen zu den besten gehört, sollte es bei der qualitativen Bewertung seines Geschäftsmodells, seiner Unternehmensführung und seiner Marktnische Spitzenwerte erzielen – und zudem über ein solides Finanzgerüst verfügen.

Die untenstehende Grafik zeigt die rückläufige Präsenz der TOP 100-Unternehmen (gemäss Corporate Excellence Award Methodik) mit Familienbesitz: 2013 hatten 67% der Gewinner des Excellence Award eine starke Familienpräsenz, während in 2020 nur noch 33% übrig waren. Gleiches gilt für das Top 100 Universum, obwohl der Rückgang weniger offensichtlich ist – von 41% auf 33%. Nachfolgend diskutieren wir mögliche Gründe, die den Trend erklären.

Abb. 1: Anteil von Unternehmen, die sich in Familienbesitz befinden

Hinweis: Ein Unternehmen hat eine Familienbeteiligung, falls die Familie oder ein Ankerinvestor mehr als 10% des Stimmrechts besitzt und der größte Anteilseigner ist.

Quelle: Hérens Quality Asset Management

Zunächst betrachten wir, wie sich frühere Top-Familienunternehmen entwickelt haben und prüfen, ob diese noch an der Spitze stehen (Abb. 2). Wir konzentrieren uns auf das Jahr 2013 als Ausgangspunkt für unsere Analyse und auf 2016 als das Jahr, in dem es die größte Anzahl von Unternehmen mit ausgeprägtem Familienbesitz gab.

Abb. 2: Entwicklung von Unternehmen, den Unternehmen, die zuvor zu den besten gezählt

Quelle: Hérens Quality Asset Management

Knapp ein Drittel der Unternehmen, die in der Vergangenheit von einer Familie geführt wurden, befindet sich im Jahr 2020 noch unter den Top-Unternehmen, während für die Mehrheit der Unternehmen der Hauptgrund für die Nichtqualifizierung an der Spitze die Verschlechterung der Unternehmenssituation war. Änderungen im Familienbesitz und Delisting (z.B. infolge von M&A) sind von geringerer Bedeutung. Natürlich betrifft ein Eigentümerwechsel mehr Unternehmen, da Familien von den lukrativen Angeboten der Finanzbranche in Versuchung geführt werden, insbesondere wenn die Familien nicht mehr an der aktiven Führung interessiert sind und daran, die Dynastie in der Unternehmensführung fortzusetzen.

Finanziell schwächer?

Wir haben die finanziellen Bedingungen der früheren Top-Familien-Unternehmen in anhand von zwei Dimensionen untersucht und dabei die Kapitalrentabilität und die Kapitalstruktur berücksichtigt, um zu vergleichen, wie gut sie jetzt im Gegensatz zu den Jahren aussehen, als sie ganz oben waren. Wie aus der Abbildung 3 hervorgeht, verschlechterten sich die mittlere Eigenkapitalrendite und die Eigenkapitalquote für die Familienunternehmen, die einst an die Spitze zugelassen wurden: Z.B. ging der ROE für die Top-Unternehmen 2013 von 21% auf 14% im Jahr 2020 zurück, die Eigenkapitalquote für die besten Unternehmen 2014 schrumpfte von 65% auf 55%.

Abb. 3: Kapitalrendite und Eigenkapitalquote von Familienunternehmen für 2020 im
Vergleich zum Jahr der Aufnahme in die Top-100-Unternehmen, Kapitalrendite und
Eigenkapitalquote der Top-100-Unternehmen

Quelle: Hérens Quality Asset Management, Thomson Reuters

Was jedoch nicht ignoriert werden sollte, ist, dass Familienunternehmen, die an der Spitze blieben, finanziell attraktiver wurden (ROE erhöhte sich von 21% auf 26-28%), auch wenn ihre Anzahl abnahm. Dies zeigt sich auch, wenn die Finanzkennzahlen von Familienunternehmen mit den Medianzahlen der Top-100-Universen verglichen werden: Die Kapitalrentabilität von Unternehmen mit Familien-Hauptaktionären schneiden besser ab.

Sicherstellung einer plausiblen Nachfolgeplanung, Innovationskraft des Geschäftsmodells und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Managements

Man kann also eine vorsichtige Schlussfolgerung ziehen, dass die Diskrepanz zwischen Familienunternehmen zunimmt: Gut geführte Familienunternehmen bleiben an der Spitze und bauen ihren Vorsprung noch weiter aus, während eher schlecht geführte Unternehmen trotz großer Familienbeteiligung schwere Zeiten haben, um nach oben zurückzukehren. Es gibt dafür auch anschauliche Beispiele. Nehmen wir das Luxuskonglomerat Richemont, das dem südafrikanischen Unternehmer und Milliardär Johann Rupert gehört, der auch seit langem Vorsitzender des Unternehmens ist. Richemont lag eindeutig hinter seinen Mitbewerbern zurück, wenn es darum ging, auf die neuen Realitäten der Branche mit sich ändernden Nachfragemustern einzugehen wie z.B. Millennials, die raffiniertere Produkte suchen oder die Herausforderungen des E-Commerce. In der Folge kam es durch Herrn Rupert zu einem Austausch des Top-Managements, um „frisches Blut und frische Ideen“ ins Unternehmen zu bringen. Dadurch konnte die Aufholjagt zu Konkurrenten wie LVMH und Kering beginnen.

Mit dieser Untersuchung möchten wir den Faktor Familienbeteiligung in der Wertschöpfung nicht wegreden. Trotzdem sprechen die Ergebnisse unserer Corporate Excellence Analyse für sich – an der Spitze unseres Rankings gibt es immer weniger Unternehmen mit einer signifikanten Familienpräsenz unter den Aktionären. Familien müssen weniger konservativ werden und sich umgehend an das sich schnell ändernde Umfeld anpassen. Weiterhin müssen sie mehr Talente im Management finden und den Fokus auf Innovation legen, um auch in Zukunft Mehrwert zu generieren.

Zugang zu Kapital ist kein Vorteil mehr

Der Faktor Familienbeteiligung hat an Bedeutung verloren. Früher hatten Unternehmen wohlhabender Familien einen erheblichen Vorteil durch einfachen Zugang zu Kapital. Die Situation hat sich radikal geändert, da die Kapitalkosten sinken und das Kapital nun praktisch jedem Unternehmen mit einem deutlichen Wettbewerbsvorteil und innovativer Technologie zur Verfügung steht. Heute stehen Investoren Schlange, um in skalierbare Geschäftsmodelle zu investieren.

 

 

HQAM Monthly Insight June 2020 (DE)

 

Zurück