Monthly Topic: Alternative Data

22/11/17

MONTHLY TOPIC: ALTERNATIVE DATA

Technology is transforming investment management just like any other industry during the last few years and, to stay up-to-date, asset managers should increasingly put focus on enhancing their investment processes with data-driven solutions that could substantially improve their results.

Rapid development of cloud-based computing capacity together with machine learning techniques has made it possible to collect, store, process and learn from vast amounts of data, getting actionable insights into development of companies’ business trends.

Consumer brands are changing their business models to advertise and sell their goods online and investing heavily in digital marketing and consumer interaction through social media platforms. They promote their products on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter – platforms on which activity can be easily tracked.

THE SEARCH FOR NEW ALPHA SOURCES

On January 26th, 2017 healthcare giant Johnson & Johnson announced the acquisition of Actelion in a $30 billion all-cash deal – exciting news for the Swiss biotech company’s investors, whose stock rose 44 percent six weeks before the publication. But a certain group of hedge funds were particularly happy – Och- Ziff Capital Management, Eton Park Capital Management and Elliott Management, which built substantial stakes in the company based on a rather unusual source of information – tracking the arrivals of the J&J Gulfstream corporate jet at Basel airport, where Actelion headquarters is located.

That is just a one example how money managers losing assets to passive funds are trying to build up an informational advantage to deliver above benchmark returns. An increasing number of investment houses are establishing sizable quant teams managing exponentially rising amounts of data to make better investment decisions.

Data Revolution

The topic started to gain traction in 2015 when Blackrock (link), Citigroup (link) and Goldman Sachs (link) published the first papers outlining frameworks to adjust the investment industry in this new environment. All of them came to the conclusion that traditional sources for analysis – annual reports, company presentations, management meetings and Bloomberg – should be complimented with alternative data from social media, aggregated search results, newsflow sentiment and satellite imagery (or even flight traffic as in the example above), which will become an integral part of the future investment process (see chart below). Rapid development of cloud-based computing capacity together with machine learning techniques made it possible to collect, store, process and learn from vast amounts of data, getting actionable insights into the development of companies’ business trends.

Source: Citi Business Advisory Services

Figure 1: Emerging Approach to Data Analysis

Tectonic shift in retail

Amazon, the great disruptor, is putting a tremendous pressure on traditional retail business models – more and more people are less keen on spending their valuable time visiting department stores in search of the items they need to buy. This fact was the major contributor to rising sales of Amazon, Asos, Zalando and other digital platforms. And the stock market is surely responding – Amazon’s market value now is bigger than most brick and mortar retailers put together.

Online retail sales growth has been extreme during the last five years almost doubling in size and reaching 14% of total in UK, 13% in US and 12% in Germany. But top position is clearly occupied by China with 16% share with purchases hitting $1 trillion in 2017 due to success of giants like Alibaba and JD.com.

Consumer brands are responding by changing their business models to advertise and sell their goods online, investing heavily in digital marketing and consumer interaction through social media platforms. They team up with celebrities with millions of followers to promote their products on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter – platforms on which activity can be easily tracked.

Use cases and our results

Puma, long-time stock market underperformer, has made a smart move in December 2014 – it signed Rihanna as its new creative director. Why was it a game changer? Rihanna is among the most followed celebrities on social media platforms – 81 million fans on Facebook and 82 million on Twitter. And as the new collection has hit the market end of 2015 – aggregated search activity for Puma exploded and stock price followed.

Figure 2: Facebook Fan Engagement vs 1Y Performance (Source: HQAM, Reuters)

Another important metric to follow is how companies engage with its customers online. When a person likes a brand on Facebook – it’s already a sign of loyalty, but also their interaction with a page (likes, comments and re-shares) can tell you a lot about the quality of their digital strategy. Just look at the chart below – there is a clear correlation between the engagement (in % of total audience) and 1-year stock performance, one company that clearly stands out is boohoo.com – UK ecommerce
phenomenon.

Figure 3: Facebook Fan Engagement vs 1Y Performance (Source: HQAM, Reuters)

HQAM is convinced that this source of information cannot be ignored. Rather it could be a valuable input in addition to a traditional fundamental-based anaylsis. Therefore we have devoted substantial resources to systematically collect and analyze data from multiple alternative sources and combine them in our proprietary platform Astutex. And the results are convincing – companies having biggest momentum in popularity are delivering above average returns generating consistent alpha over the period of last ten years. The chart below demonstrates active return of different quintiles (Q5 being the best and Q1 – the worst) depending on magnitude of the trend.

Figure 4: Cumulative Active Return (Source: HQAM, Reuters)

HQAM Corporate Excellence Insights November 2017 (EN)

 

Back

Monatsfokus: Alternative Daten

22/11/17

MONATSFOKUS: ALTERNATIVE DATEN

Die Informationstechnologie verändert das Investment-Management wie jede andere Branche in den letzten Jahren. Um die Vorteile zu nutzen, können sich die Vermögensverwalter dieser Entwicklung nicht verschliessen. Die enorme Datenverfügbarkeit kann systematisch in den Anlageprozess integriert werden und so kann damit auch die Grundlage geschaffen werden, um die Anlagergebnisse erheblich zu verbessern.

Die rasche Entwicklung der Cloud-basierten Computerkapazität zusammen mit den maschinellen Lerntechniken hat es ermöglicht, Datenmengen zu sammeln, zu speichern, zu verarbeiten und daraus zu lernen. Damit ist es möglich, im Anlageprozess verwertbare Einblicke in die Entwicklung der Geschäftstrends von Unternehmen zu erhalten.

Verbrauchermarken ändern ihre Geschäftsmodelle. Die Waren werden online beworben und verkauft. Es wird auch stark in digitales Marketing und in Verbraucherinteraktion durch Social-Media-Plattformen investiert. Produkte werden auf Instagram, Facebook und Twitter beworben. Auf diesen Plattformen, können Aktivitäten gut verfolgt werden.

DIE SUCHE NACH NEUEN ALPHA QUELLEN

Am 26. Januar 2017 kündigte der Healthcare-Riese Johnson & Johnson die Übernahme von Actelion in einem 30-Milliarden-Dollar-Geschäft an. Eine aufregende Nachricht für die Investoren des Schweizer Biotech-Unternehmens, deren Aktien sechs Wochen vor der Veröffentlichung um 44 Prozent stiegen. Aber eine bestimmte Gruppe von Hedgefonds war besonders glücklich. Och-Ziff Capital Management, Eton Park Capital Management und Elliott Management, die aufgrund einer ziemlich ungewöhnlichen Informationsquelle erhebliche Anteile an dem Unternehmen aufgebaut haben. Diese Hedge Funds verfolgten die Flugbewegungen des J&J Gulfstream-Geschäftsflugzeugs zum Flughafen Basel, wo sich der Hauptsitz von Actelion befindet.

Dies ist nur ein Beispiel dafür, wie Geldmanager, die Vermögenswerte an passive Fonds verlieren, versuchen, einen Informationsvorsprung aufzubauen, um bessere Renditen zu erzielen. Immer mehr Investmenthäuser bauen grosse Quant Teams auf, die exponentiell steigende Datenmengen verwalten, um bessere Anlageentscheidungen zu treffen.

Daten Revolution

Das Thema gewann im Jahr 2015 an Einfluss, als Blackrock (link), Citigroup (link) und Goldman Sachs (link)die ersten Studien veröffentlichten, welche den Wandel der Investmentbranche in diesem neuen Umfeld skizzierten. Sie kamen dabei zum Schluss, dass traditionelle Quellen für Analysen, wie Jahresberichte, Firmenpräsentationen, Managementmeetings und Bloomberg, verbunden mit alternativen Daten aus sozialen Medien, aggregierten Suchergebnissen, Newsflow-Sentiment und Satellitenbildern, ein integraler Bestandteil des zukünftigen Anlageprozesses sein werden (siehe nachstehende Tabelle). Die schnelle Entwicklung cloudbasierter Computerkapazitäten verbunden mit Techniken des maschinellen Lernens ermöglicht es, Datenmengen zu sammeln, zu speichern, zu verarbeiten und daraus zu lernen, um verwertbare Einblicke in die Entwicklung der Geschäftstrends von Unternehmen zu erhalten.

Source: Citi Business Advisory Services

Grafik 1: Emerging Approach to Data Analysis

Tektonische Verschiebung im Einzelhandel

Amazon übt einen enormen Druck auf die traditionellen Geschäftsmodelle des Einzelhandels aus. Immer mehr Menschen sind kaum daran interessiert, ihre wertvolle Zeit damit zu verbringen, Kaufhäuser zu besuchen, um nach den Dingen zu suchen, die sie kaufen wollen. Diese Tatsache trug massgeblich zum steigenden Absatz von Amazon, Asos, Zalando und anderen digitalen Plattformen bei. Und die Börse reagiert darauf. Der Marktwert von Amazon ist grösser als derjenige der meisten Einzelhändler zusammen. Das Wachstum des Onlinehandels ist in den letzten fünf Jahren angestiegen und hat sich fast verdoppelt und erreicht in Großbritannien (Anteil am Einzelhandelsvolumen) 14%, in den USA 13% und in Deutschland 12%. China ist mit 16% klar führend. Die Käufe stiegen 2017 aufgrund des Erfolges von Giganten wie Alibaba und JD.com auf 1 Billion USD.

Verbrauchermarken ändern ihre Geschäftsmodelle. Die Waren werden online beworben und verkauft. Es wird auch stark in digitales Marketing und in Verbraucherinteraktion durch Social-Media-Plattformen investiert. Produkte werden auf Instagram, Facebook und Twitter beworben. Auf diesen Plattformen können Aktivitäten gut verfolgt werden.

Anwendung und Resultate

Puma, ein langjähriger Underperformer an den Aktienmärkten, hat im Dezember 2014 einen cleveren Schritt gemacht. Puma hat Rihanna als neuen Creative Director verpflichtet. Warum Rihanna? Sie gehört zu den am meisten beachteten Prominenten auf Social-Media-Plattformen – 81 Millionen Fans auf Facebook und 82 Millionen auf Twitter. Und als die neue Kollektion Ende 2015 auf den Markt kam, explodierte die aggregierte Suchaktivität für Puma und der Aktienkurs folgte entsprechend nach oben.

Grafik 2: Facebook Fan Engagement vs 1Y Performance (Source: HQAM, Reuters)

Eine weitere wichtige Messgrösse ist die Art und Weise, wie Unternehmen online mit ihren Kunden interagieren. Wenn eine Person eine Marke auf Facebook mag, ist dies bereits ein Zeichen von Loyalität, aber auch ihre Interaktion mit einer Seite (Likes, Kommentare und Re-Shares) kann viel über die Qualität der digitalen Unternehmensstrategie verraten. Die unten stehende Grafik zeigt eine klare Korrelation zwischen dem Engagement (in % des Gesamtpublikums) und der 1- Jahresaktienperformance. Ein Unternehmen, das sich deutlich abhebt, ist boohoo.com – das britische E-Commerce-Phänomen.

Grafik 3: Facebook Fan Engagement vs 1Y Performance (Source: HQAM, Reuters)

HQAM ist überzeugt, dass diese „Big Data“ Informationsquellen nicht ignoriert werden sollten. Neben einer traditionellen fundamentalbasierten Analyse leisten diese einen wertvollen Beitrag. Aus diesem Grund haben wir umfangreiche Ressourcen zur systematischen Sammlung und Analyse von Daten aus verschiedenen alternativen Quellen erarbeitet. Die Daten werden in unserer proprietären Plattform Astutex kombiniert. Die Ergebnisse sind überzeugend. Unternehmen, die am stärksten an Popularität gewinnen, erzielten in einem Backtesting überdurchschnittliche Renditen über die letzten zehn Jahre und konnten ein konstantes Alpha generieren. Die nachstehende Grafik zeigt die aktive Rendite verschiedener Quintile (Q5 das Beste und Q1 das schlechteste), abhängig vom Ausmass des Trends.

Grafik 4: Cumulative Active Return (Source: HQAM, Reuters)

HQAM Corporate Excellence Insights November 2017 (DE)

 

Züruck